What does baking soda do to pancakes?

You use baking power in pancakes to lighten the mixture so that the pancakes will rise or puff up when cooked in the pan. Baking soda is not normally used but baking power is.

---

Baking soda is a leavening agent so it makes the pancakes rise so they aren’t flat.