How did john wayne get the nickname the duke?

As a child, John Wayne's pet Airedale Terrier was named Duke. A local fireman gave Wayne the nickname "Little Duke" in light of the Airedale's larger size and over time the nickname stuck and was shortened to the classic "Duke".