What's the proper way to bake a potato?

Wash the potatoes thoroughly, then pierce them with a knife to prevent them from exploding in the oven. Place them in the oven at 350 degrees Fahrenheit or 176 degrees Celsius. Bake for one to one and a half hours, or until they are easily pierced with a fork.