How long can a dolphin swim underwater?

In average the dolphin can stay underwater for about 8 to 10 minutes with some being able to remain submerged for up to15 minutes. Dolphins as all other mammals including whales breathe using their lungs via the blowhole on top of their head covered by muscular flap to keep water out while diving.