Are there more stars or more grains of sand?

No one can say for sure whether there are more stars in the universe or grains of sand on Earth. Both numbers have a lot of uncertainty to them. But the numbers are qualitatively comparable. One can get an understanding of the number of stars by imagining the number of grains of sand.