What is sundials?

What is sundials? A sundial is an instrument showing the time by the shadow of a pointer cast by the sun on to a plate marked with the hours of the day or is a mollusk with a flattened spiral shell that is typically patterned in shades of brown, living in tropical and subtropical seas.