Why do chickens start laying eggs?

Why do chickens start laying eggs? The laying process starts when light entering the hen's eye activates a photosensitive gland (the pineal gland) positioned nearby. Once stimulated, this gland triggers a process that leads to the release of an egg, or oocyte, from the hen's ovary.