How long does it take food to digest in the stomach?

After you eat, it takes six to eight hours for food to pass through your stomach & small intestine. Food then enters your large intestine (colon) for further digestion, absorption of water &, finally, elimination of undigested food. It takes about 36 hours for food to move through the entire colon.