What does debris mean?

Debris is scattered pieces of waste or remains. It can also mean loose natural material consisting especially of broken pieces of rock.

---

debris is a noun meaning scattered and/or assorted remnants, typically left in random patterns. Floating debris can be found around a shipwreck. The debris after a fire would consist largely of ashes and embers. In contrast, various types of debris are kept purposefully in scrap yards.