What produces brown eggs?

Brown eggs are laid by hens that produce the pigment protoporphyrin IX. It’s made from the same substance that gives blood it’s red color. Eggs are typically nutritionally equal no matter the shell color.

---

Difference is really only in the color of eggshell. The color of an egg is determined by the breed of chicken, that lays it. Despite various preferences of different people in regards of the egg's color, or different prices, there is no real health or nutritional benefit of using one over the other.