Is dog a noun or a verb?

Both, though more commonly a noun. In the sense of the friendly canine, an unstisfactory person or device, or a peg or gear used to prevent motion, it's a noun. In the sense of "to follow or harrass", or "to secure with a peg or gear", it's a verb.