Is canada state?

From a diplomatic perspective, Canada is a foreign state. It is not a state in the United States. It is a separate country located to the north of the United States. It used to be called a Dominion, specifically the Dominion of Canada, but that term has largely been out of use for 50 plus years.

---

Canada is not a state but a country in North America.