Is gringo derogatory?

Sometimes. According to the Oxford dictionary, a gringo or gringa, is basically an informal noun. A person with a foreign origin who doesn’t speak Spanish. Spanish speakers use it mostly to refer to people born in United States. If it is spoken with disgust or malice, it is offensive.