How long can beetles hold their breath?

Larvae take air into their bodies through spiracles (pores) at the tip of their abdomen. Adults also back up to the surface film, but the air they capture is stored under the elytra. They can stay submerged for a long time (long being defined by one as 10 minutes and by another as 36 hours!