How do you hatch turtle eggs in minecraft?

Turtle eggs can be placed similarly to normal solid blocks, and slowly hatch into turtles. Up to 4 turtle eggs can be placed onto 1 block. Turtle eggs only hatch if on sand (not red sand). They hatch significantly faster at nighttime.