Why was d-day call d-day?

The D simply stands for day. The designation was traditionally used for the date of any important military operation or invasion, according to the National World War II Museum. Thus, the day before June 6, 1944, was known as D minus 1 and the days after were D+1, D+2, D+ and so on.