What does an earwig do?

Earwigs eat dead and decaying plants and insects. The idea that they would crawl into your ear is a myth. Earwigs aren't poisonous, don't transmit diseases, and can't inflict significant structural damage. They might be a nuisance, but they're not dangerous.