How did the store seven eleven get its name?

The company's first outlets were in Dallas, named "Tote'm Stores" because customers "toted" away their purchases. ... In 1946, the chain's name was changed from "Tote'm" to "7-Eleven" to reflect the company's new, extended hours, 7:00 am to 11:00 pm, seven days per week.