What is hex code?

It stands for hexadecimal code. It comes from computers based on a binary system. The closest base to 10 was 16 since it needed to be a power of 2. The prior use of octal, or base 8, proved to be too limiting. The digits are 0 through 9 followed by the letters A through F.