What's the difference between an alpaca and the llama?

First of all, they differ in size. A llama is up to 5 feet tall and 300 pounds, alpacas only reach 3 feet and 100 pounds. Llamas also have longer ears and faces than the alpaca.

---

At first glance, alpacas may resemble their larger camelid cousin the llama, but they are quite different. Their ears: Alpaca ears have short spear-shaped ears while llamas have much longer, banana-shaped ears. ... Their hair: The alpaca produces a much finer fiber than the llama.