What is a berry?

A berry has three distinctive layers. The exocarp (outer skin), mesocarp (fleshy middle) and endocarp (innermost part, which holds the seeds.) A banana, tomatoes and watermelons are all actually berries and strawberries are not berries, botanically speaking.