What are molecules made out of?

Molecules are made up of one or more atoms. If they contain more than one atom, the atoms can be the same (an oxygen molecule has 2 oxygen atoms) or different (a water molecule has 2 hydrogen atoms and 1 oxygen atom). Biological molecules, such as proteins, can be made up of many thousands of atoms.