How are maraschino cherries made?

The cherries are soaked in a brine solution containing calcium chloride and sulfur dioxide, bleaching the cherries, removing the pigment and flavor. The cherries are left in the brine solution for four to six weeks. They are then soaked in red dye, sugar and oil of bitter almonds for one month.