When did gimbals department store go out of business?

Adam Gimbel opened his 1st store in Vincennes, IN., in 1842. Gimbels department store corp. operated for a century,1887 to1987. Brown & Williamson acquired Gimbels in 1973 & later created BATUS Retail Group subsidiary for all its retail holdings. Gimbals chain became defunct 1987. Per Wikipedia