Why is it called taps?

If you are referring to the bugle played during a funeral, originally a drummer played three taps on the snare drum which became known as "taps". It later evolved to the bugle melody we hear today. If you are referring to "taps" as in tap dancing, early tap dancers "tapped" their shoes to rhythms.