What does e. x. mean in pokemon?

The ex in the name stands for extra, as indicated by a wide range of attacks that have some sort of additional effect on Pokémon-ex. For example, in the EX Deoxys expansion, there is a Grumpig which possesses an attack called "Extra Ball", which deals additional damage if used against a Pokémon-ex.