What does i. p. sixty eight mean?

The 2 characters IP stand for Ingress Protection. The 3rd digit is how good it is at protecting against small solids for a max rating of 6. The 4th digit is the liquid resist rating with a max of 8. IP68 offers the highest IP rating for both dust & water resistance, for IP-rating certification.