Why does kobe bryant have two basketball numbers?

People have speculated that he changed his number to put his jersey back into the most-selling list. After 9 years in the league, almost all of his fans owned the no.8 Jersey. When he changed his number to 24, everyone had to go out and buy his jersey no.24.