What monkey pops come from?

First, it is pox, not pops. Just like smallpox, which monkeypox is related to. Monkeypox primarily occurs in central and west Africa, often in proximity to tropical rainforests, and has been increasingly appearing in urban areas. Animal hosts include a range of rodents and non-human primates.