What is annie mae?

"Annie Mae" is a song by Natalie Cole, released in 1977. Fannie Mae, however, is a leading source of financing for mortgages in the United States. Fannie Mae purchases mortgages from lenders and helps facilitate the flow of capital into the housing market.