When did the camera come out?

The camera was invented in 1816 by Joseph Nicéphore Niépce.

---

While the invention of the camera draws on centuries of contributions, historians generally agree that the first photographic camera was invented in 1816 by Frenchman Joseph Nicéphore Niépce