When did trinidad and tobago gain independence?

In 1962 Trinidad and Tobago gained independence from the United Kingdom but retained Queen Elizabeth II as Head of State. In 1976, a Republic was formed replacing the queen with a President. The country has remained a member of the Commonwealth.