Is e. w. a. word?

According to Merriam-Webster.com, the word EW (spelled E. W.) is used to express disgust at something distasteful or repellent (such as a bad odor). Example: Ew, what's that smell? WordHippo.com lists synonyms for ew, including: gross, ick, yuck, blech, eww, ugh and yech.