What alcohol is an upper?

There are no "upper" alcohols. All alcohols are central nervous system depressants.

---

The alcohol in all consumable alcoholic beverages is ethanol, a depressant or "downer". Caffeine is an upper, so alcoholic cocktails that mix the two, such as a vodka and red bull, have a mixed effect.