What is the meaning of gigabyte?

one gigabyte is one billion bytes. The unit symbol for the gigabyte is GB . This definition is used in all contexts of science, engineering, business, and many areas of computing, including hard drive, solid state drive, and tape capacities, as well as data transmission speeds.