What is a artic dissection?

Aortic dissection is a serious condition in which there is a tear in the wall of the major artery carrying blood out of the heart, the aorta. As the tear extends along the wall of the aorta, blood can flow in between the layers of the blood vessel wall, this is known as dissection.