Does yogurt have bacteria?

The two bacteria needed for yogurt is called Lactobacillus bulgaricus and Streptococcus thermophilus. The fermentation of lactose by these bacteria makes lactic acid, which acts on milk protein to give yogurt its texture and characteristic tart flavor.