How did the titanic go down?

On April 15, 1912, the RMS Titanic hit an iceberg in the north Atlantic ocean. Several of the right side hull plates were fractured or buckled and five of the sixteen watertight compartments of the Titanic flooded, causing the ship to sink within two and one half hours of hitting the iceberg.