Which came first marvel or d. c.?

D.C was founded in 1934 by National Allied Periodicals. After National merged with Independent News, Detective Comics Inc. was formed, and the official name became, DC. Marvel Comics was founded in 1939 as Timely Publications and became Atlas Comics then changed back to Marvel Comics.