What was the highest mega million jackpot?

The largest ever Mega Millions jackpot was $1.537 billion, and was won by a single ticket sold in South Carolina in 2018. That’s the second-largest jackpot for any US lottery game; on January 13, 2016, a $1.586 billion Powerball prize was shared by winners in California, Florida and Tennessee.