How can you tell if a tree is dead?

One of the best ways to determine if a tree or any plant is dead is the tree scratch test. Just beneath the dry, outer layer of bark in a tree's trunk lies the cambium layer of bark. In a living tree, this is green; in a dead tree, it is brown and dry.