How is ice cream invented?

A kind of ice-cream was invented in China about 200 BC when a milk and rice mixture was frozen by packing it into snow. Roman emperors are supposed to have sent slaves to mountain tops to bring back fresh snow which was then flavoured and served as an early form of ice-cream