Is an avocado a fruit or a nut?

An Avocado is a fruit. More specifically, it's a large berry with a single seed. Although it's not nearly as sweet as many other fruits, it falls under the definition of fruit, which is "the sweet and fleshy product of a tree or other plant that contains seed and can be eaten as food