What does it mean to be lettered in varsity sport in highschool?

Typically if the athlete has played on a varsity team in high school and has met the requirements (quarters played, minutes played, etc.) the athlete is "lettered". Once an athlete has lettered the coach would then present the athlete with a "letter" that can be worn on a letter jacket