What does mind your own p.'s and q.'s mean?

The phrase "mind your P's & Q's" originated in the British Navy. It references the rationing of alcohol for each Sailor during a voyage. To keep the crew from getting drunk, every rationed "Pint & Quart" they consumed was documented daily. Now, it's awareness of being on your best behavior.