What does mind your own p.'s and q.'s mean?

While the exact origin remains unknown, the phrase may have come from old English pubs; a time of frequent bar fights. The bartender may have yelled to everyone to ‘mind their pints and quarts’ during a brawl to avoid spilling their drinks. This would have later been shortened to P’s and Q’s.