How do you know if pear is ready?

To test if a pear is ripe, apply gentle pressure near the stem end. If it gives slightly, it's most likely ready to be eaten. Pears are one of the few fruits that don't ripen successfully on the tree. They're picked when they have reached full size, but before the onset of ripening.