What is the animal locus?

Locusts are a species of short-horned grasshoppers. They are known for swarming in large amounts, sometimes damaging crops in a feeding frenzy. Locust are are usually solitary, but under certain circumstances they become more abundant and change their behaviour and habits, becoming sociable.