How high does the u. v. index go?

The U.V. Index scale starts at 0 which means there is no ultraviolet radiation coming outside. The scale goes to 11+ which is considered an extreme U.V. index. The highest recorded U.V. index was recorded in Bolivia with a U.V. index of 43.3.