What is a jellicle cat?

Jellicle cats are a fictional type of feline from the stage musical Cats. Jellicle cats were first mentioned in T. S. Eliot's 1933 poem "Five-Finger Exercises" and his 1939 light poetry book Old Possum's Book of Practical Cats. "Jellicle cats" is a corruption of the term "dear little cats".