Why is a deadbolt called a deadbolt?

A dead bolt is called that because there is no spring holding it in place; the bolt moves it from one place to another (locked to unlocked, or vice versa) and it stays there, "dead." A "live" bolt has a spring action; when you let go after opening, the spring returns it to the original position.